Part 16: Communications

communicationsThis section (communications) gives permitted development rights to providers in the telecoms and postal industry to undertake certain works.

As the readership of Planning Geek is unlikely to be utilising too many of these, we may not be expanding on many of these unless we feel there is a need. 

The up to date legislation can be found in each section for Part 16. With a summary as required. 


The five sections within Part 16 are as follows:

Class A – Electronic communications code operators

Class B – Other electronic communications development

Class C – Other electronic communications development: microwave antenna

Class D – Driver information systems

Class E – Universal postal service providers

Paragraph F – Interpretation of words and phrases in Part 16

Page Updated: 16th August 2023