Article 2 – protected land


Whilst the GPDO allows for changes to buildings and land throughout England, there are some areas that are protected in certain permitted development rights. This is called Article 2 Land. For example certain permitted development rights might be prevented on  Article 2(3) land. 

These are broken down into two sections – Article 2(3) and Article 2(4) land. Article 2(5) land ceased to exist after 31st May 2019 and has been replaced by Article 4 directions.

These definitions are found in Schedule 1, Parts 1 to 3 of the GPDO

Article 2(3) land

Schedule 1:


Part 1: Article 2(3) Land


  • an area designated as a conservation area under section 69 of the Planning (Listed Buildings and Conservation Areas) Act 1990 (designation of conservation areas)
  • an area of outstanding natural beauty (AONB)
  • an area specified by the Secretary of State for the purposes of section 41(3) of the Wildlife and Countryside Act 1981 (enhancement and protection of the natural beauty and amenity of the countryside)
  • the Broads
  • a National Park
  • a World Heritage Site


Part 2: Article 2(4) Land


Land within the following areas—

  • a National Park;
  • the Broads;
  • land outside the boundaries of a National Park which is within the parishes listed in the following parishes

These parishes are—

    • in the district of Allerdale—
      Blindcrake, Bothel and Threapland, Bridekirk, Brigham, Broughton, Broughton Moor, Camerton, Crosscanonby, Dean, Dearham, Gilcrux, Great Clifton, Greysouthen, Little Clifton, Loweswater, Oughterside and Allerby, Papcastle, Plumbland, Seaton, Winscales;
    • in the borough of Copeland—
      Arlecdon and Frizington, Cleator Moor, Distington, Drigg and Carleton, Egremont, Gosforth, Haile, Irton with Santon, Lamplugh, Lowca, Lowside Quarter, Millom, Millom Without, Moresby, Parton, Ponsonby, St Bees, St Bridget’s Beckermet, St John’s Beckermet, Seascale, Weddicar;
    • in the district of Eden—
      Ainstable, Asby, Bandleyside, Bolton, Brough, Brough Sowerby, Brougham, Castle Sowerby, Catterlen, Clifton, Cliburn, Crackenthorpe, Crosby Garrett, Crosby Ravensworth, Culgaith, Dacre, Dufton, Glassonby, Great Salkeld, Great Strickland, Greystoke, Hartley, Hesket, Hillbeck, Hunsonby, Hutton, Kaber, Kings Meaburn, Kirkby Stephen, Kirby Thore, Kirkoswald, Langwathby, Lazonby, Little Strickland, Long Marton, Lowther, Mallerstang, Milburn, Morland, Mungrisdale, Murton, Musgrave, Nateby, Newbiggin, Newby, Orton, Ousby, Ravenstonedale, Shap, Skelton, Sleagill, Sockbridge and Tirril, Soulby, Stainmore, Tebay, Temple Sowerby, Thrimby, Waitby, Warcop, Wharton, Winton, Yanwath and Eamont Bridge;
    • in the borough of High Peak—
      Chapel-en-le-Frith, Charlesworth, Chinley Buxworth and Brownside, Chisworth, Green Fairfield, Hartington Upper Quarter, Hayfield, King Sterndale, Tintwistle, Wormhill;
    • in the district of South Lakeland—
      Aldingham, Angerton, Arnside, Barbon, Beetham, Blawith and Subberthwaite, Broughton West, Burton, Casterton, Docker, Egton-with-Newland, Fawcett Forest, Firbank, Grayrigg, Helsington, Heversham, Hincaster, Holme, Hutton Roof, Killington, Kirkby Ireleth, Kirkby Lonsdale, Lambrigg, Levens, Lower Allithwaite, Lower Holker, Lowick, Lupton, Mansergh, Mansriggs, Middleton, Milnthorpe, Natland, New Hutton, Old Hutton and Holmescales, Osmotherley, Pennington, Preston Patrick, Preston Richard, Scalthwaiterigg, Sedgwick, Skelsmergh, Stainton, Strickland Ketel, Strickland Roger, Urswick, Whinfell, Whitwell and Selside;
    • in the district of West Derbyshire—
      Aldwark, Birchover, Stanton.



  • Part 3: Article 2(5) Land


    Article 2 (5) land does not exist after the 31st May 2019.

    Greater London:

    • Camden
    • City of London – Central Activities Zone, Tech City
    • Hackney – De Beauvoir, Mare Street
    • Islington
    • Kensington and Chelsea
    • Lambeth
    • Newham – Royal Docks Enterprise Zone
    • Southwark
    • Tower Hamlets – City Fringe/Tech City, Isle of Dogs
    • Wandsworth
    • Westminster

    Outside Greater London:

    • Ashford – Commercial Quarter
    • East Hampshire – Alton, Bentley, Bramshott & Liphook, Four Marks & Medstead, Grayshott, Hordean, Liss, Petersfield, Ropley, Whitehall & Bordon
    • Manchester – City Centre Core
    • Sevenoaks – BT Building, London Road, Crown Inn, Westerham Trading Centre
    • Stevenage – Gunnels Wood Employment Zone
    • Vale of White Horse – Harwell Science and Innovation Campus, Milton Park


Updated: 21st March 2023