National ParksNational Parks

National Parks are nationally-protected areas in the UK. There are 15 National Parks in the United Kingdom.

  • Ten in England – The Broads, Dartmoor, Exmoor, the Lake District, the New Forest, Northumberland, the North York Moors, the Peak District, the South Downs and the Yorkshire Dales.
  • Two in Scotland – Cairngorms and Loch Lomond & the Trossachs.
  • Three in Wales – the Brecon Beacons, Pembrokeshire Coast, and Snowdonia

National Parks are designated under the National Parks and Access to the Countryside Act 1949 with further protection provided by the Countryside and Rights of Way Act 2000.

You can use DEFRAs MAGiC mapping system to locate the National Parks in your area.

Some changes of use are allowed in National Parks. You can see what is possible on our table of permitted development opportunities. This shows each permitted development class and whether you can use it in AONBs, SPAs, conservation areas etc.

The National Planning Policy Framework (NPPF) states that local authorities should conserve landscapes and scenic beauty in National Parks.


Page Updated: 20th November 2020

Have you joined our Facebook Community yet? 


Do you need help with a property? Unsure what to do next? 


Book a 30 minute or hour Zoom session with Ian – The Planning Geek to discuss the opportunity that is before you.  Click here to book a time that is convenient for your diary. You could be talking to Ian today! 

Starts at just £149*

Full of content
– Mark from Enfield

Well worth the small cost – saved me hundreds in the long run, going down the wrong hole!
– Louise from Clapham

Wow! Ian really is a Geek when it comes to property – so glad we booked an hour’
– Paul & Jo from Newcastle

* a credit for the same amount will be given for anyone using Planning Geek
to submit planning for their property discussed during the Zoom session.