Part 9: Development for roads

development for roadsThis section (development for roads) gives permitted development rights to the highways authorities, tramways, tolls roads etc. 

As the readership of Planning Geek is unlikely to be utilising too many of these, we may not be expanding on many of these unless we feel there is a need. 

The up to date legislation can be found in each section for Part 9. With a summary as required. 


The five sections within Part 9 are as follows:

Class A – Development by highways authorities

Class B – Development by the Secretary of State or a strategic highways company under the Highways Act 1980

Class C – Tramway or road transport undertakings

Class D – Toll road facilities

Class E – Repairs to unadopted streets and private ways








Page Updated: 11th August 2023